Black Clamshell and Daisies

 3-1-14

Every year my kid’s school hosts a dinner and auction fundraiser. They always include a dessert auction with dozens of different delicious items up for bid. This cake was my contribution to this year’s event. It is a maple cake with maple buttercream filling covered in homemade vanilla fondant and decorated with white chocolate daisies. As always, with a cake project that I donate or do for my own family, I tried out a new skill. This time it was stenciling. I chose this very small clamshell design and first attempted to “paint”on royal icing just like you would when using regular paint with a stencil. The result was very messy and unevenly distributed icing. In the end, I used the stencil and a pin to mark the pattern on the fondant and then piped over it free-hand with the royal icing. It was not the skill I was hoping to master, but I did get some good piping practice and the finished look was much better.

Leave a Reply

