Little Mermaid Cake

 10-26-13

 

This is the birthday cake I did for my cousin last week. She wanted “Little Mermaid” and sent me a picture of a gorgeous cake with a large 2 dimensional Ariel on top. I figured I could do the cake part, but I let her know that I didn’t think I could pull off Ariel…..at least something recognizable as Ariel! However, after a little internet research,  I came up with a new way of re-creating characters like this and I’m really happy with how it turned out. First I printed out a picture of the character I wanted, in the size I wanted. I rolled out a 50/50 mix of fondant and gumpaste, laid my picture on top and poked holes with a pin around the perimeter. I removed the paper and cut out the shape with an exacto knife. This became my base that I laid all other pieces on. I continued the process for each different color in the picture and then pieced them together on top of my base and attached them with sugar glue. Finally, I drew in the details and outlined Ariel with an edible marker. All the other decorations are made from modeling chocolate. Happy Birthday Taylor!

2 thoughts on “Little Mermaid Cake

  1. Pingback: Princess Elsa Birthday | Shannon Louise Cake Studio

Leave a Reply

