Black and White Birthday for 3!

10-6-13 John's 50th, Ed and Mom's Birthday

 

My mom and two of her brothers have birthdays really close together, so I did this cake for their joint birthday party. One of the brothers turned 50 this year so I went with a black and white theme. My main fous was to just make it playful and not girly. I had some fun with the vertical stripes and made them all a little bit different. This was also my first time making Red Velvet cake from scratch. It turned out really well, but I think I’ll make sure to wear gloves next time and try to avoid dying my hands red 🙂

This cake is frosted in vanilla buttercream and all of the decorations are made out of fondant. For the topper I dipped floral wire in melted white chocolate and stuck black and white balls of fondant on top.

Leave a Reply

