60th Wedding Anniversary

60th Wedding Anniversary

Last weekend we celebrated my grandparent’s 60th wedding anniversary. Yes, that’s right, 6-0! Almost all of their 8 children, 23 grandchildren and 16 great-grandchildren and spouses made it to the party. I have such a big family and don’t get to see them all very often so it was like our own little family reunion, too. Great food, fun games, the most gigantic slip and slide I’ve ever seen, drinks, music… we had it all. My cousin Gabe is photographer and took some amazing pictures of the event as well.

I got to make this 3 tier ivory and white cake for my grandparents. It’s spice cake with cream cheese filling and vanilla buttercream frosting. The lace is made out of a blend of modeling chocolate and my homemade fondant. My grandparents came from Switzerland and the edelweiss pin on the middle tier came from my mom and is a nod to their (and our) heritage.

I can only hope to celebrate my own 60th wedding anniversary about 50 years from now!

Leave a Reply

