Monster Birthday

Easton's 3rd Bday 4-21-13 (2)

This birthday cake was made for a monster truck fan turning 3 years old this month. It is frosted with buttercream and the decorations are made from fondant. I used chocolate frosting and chocolate cake crumbles to make the “dirt”. I was so excited to try out the flames on the bottom tier. Of course, as soon as I put them on the cake I thought of at least 2 ways I could have done them better, but they still turned out pretty good for a first attempt. To apply the flames, I used the wax paper transfer technique taught by Jessica Harris in her Craftsy class and on her blog, jessicakesblog.blogspot.com. It worked perfectly and I already have plans to use it for a different design on my next cake.

Happy Birthday Easton!

Leave a Reply

