Buttercream Ruffles and Flowers

St. Joseph Auction 3-2-13

OK, I promise this will be the last ruffle cake for a while. I guess it’s only the second one I’ve posted, but I practiced so many times it feels like I’ve done 5 of them in the last couple weeks. This cake was made for the St. Joseph School Auction fundraiser. It was in the silent auction and sold so quick I almost didn’t even see it on the table when I showed up 15 minutes after the start. Luckily, the person who bought it was sitting at my table! It was a complete coincidence, but so great because they were nice enough to share 🙂  Thank you! I don’t often get to see my finished cakes cut and eaten so it was kind of fun.

This one was Orange Chiffon cake with Vanilla Buttercream. The Dahlia-type flowers are made of gumpaste and the rolled roses are made of fondant. I used a bigger petal tip to give it slightly bigger ruffles than the Buttercream Ruffles and Carnations cake. I’d love to know which one you like better.

2 thoughts on “Buttercream Ruffles and Flowers

Leave a Reply

